This Simple Act Helped Me…

Tracey Derrick - breast cancer portraiture - mastectomy surgery - Dr Paul Whitehead

“Myself as Subject

Documenting myself began during my mastectomy operation. It was the first time that I had ever had surgery and requested the surgeon and nurses to take photographs of my operation.

Afterwards in hospital I had a borrowed digital SLR camera with me. This simple act of holding a camera helped me feel more secure and that possibly I had some control over the situation.

This was the beginning of participating in my own recovery from cancer and the first time that I had ever used a digital camera.” ~ Tracey Derrick


 

TAKEAWAY: Amelia’s Story

Leave a Reply

