Going Under…

advocates-for-breast-cancer_blog_tracey-derrick_jenny-edge

“Drawing on my work as a photographer has helped me to explore changes in my physical and emotional self.  Much of Jo Spence’s work as a photographer was a response to her breast cancer and treatment. Her work raises several important issues based on her experience of cancer treatment and she was particularly interested in the power dynamics of the doctor/patient relationship and the role of healthcare institutions in the infantilization of patients.

However, my first experience of the medical profession was informative and empowering. I have a medical team who shared information with me, who were honest with their facts and who supported me as an individual.” ~ Tracey Derrick: 1 in 9: My Year as a Statistic

How have you experienced your cancer treatment?

What has your relationship been like with your medical team?

*Photograph by Dr Jenny Edge


TAKEAWAY: EPISODE 1, ACT 2 OF ‘I AM WOMAN LEAP OF FAITH’
Leave a Reply

