Beating the scourge of stigmaabc,

black woman breast

Babalwa Ursula Malgas (38) had never done a breast self examination before, but on that day in October 2011 when she touched her breast and found a lump, she knew it wasn’t normal.

Not belonging to a medical scheme, Babalwa went to the Frere Public Hospital where she lives in East London for a check up, and a biopsy confirmed that she had breast cancer.

“I was standing in the passageway of the hospital right next to the doctor when he told the nurse: ‘Book her for a mastectomy – we have to remove the breast’ without even consulting with me first,” said Babalwa. “I felt betrayed, naked and insulted to find out that my breast will be removed like that.”

After that experience she pulled all her resources together to have the mastectomy done at a private facility.

“Growing up in a township, even as an educated woman, I didn’t know you could get cancer in the breast. I only knew of cancer of the womb and the throat and then it generally believed that either that person is promiscuous, or they are bewitched,” she says.

“Cancer is a taboo subject. People don’t just talk about it. In fact, only after my own diagnosis I found out that my aunt, who passed away a couple of years ago, died of lung cancer. We were told she died in an accident.”

These are the reasons most cancer cases in this country are only diagnosed at a very advanced stage – either people don’t realise they might have cancer when they develop a lump or get symptoms, or they keep quiet about it out of shame.

After her experience she decided to break the silence around cancer in her community and now makes it her mission to spread the news about cancer to everyone, especially the uneducated who live in rural areas and townships.

“There is still a lot of work to be done. Because even if people knew about cancer, accessing treatment is still very difficult for most,” she says.

Babalwa is now also involved with a support group in Mdantsane. “We have adopted a ward for male breast cancer patients at Cecelia Makawane hospital,” she explains. “We are helping them to accept their diagnosis, and to realise it is not a death sentence. They find it difficult to open up and share their fears and their feelings, but we are making progress, bit by bit.”

For Babalwa, the issue of stigma cuts through many levels. Cancer survivors don’t want to talk about their feelings or their symptoms because they are afraid of being perceived as victims. Family members don’t offer support, and intimate partners don’t find it easy to cope with the changes their loved ones are experiencing.

“We haven’t won the war against stigma yet, but we are making progress. People are beginning to realise that you don’t have to call someone names if they are sick. Awareness campaigns and the positive influence of support groups are really making a difference and changing people’s attitudes, even in the rural areas.”

We’d love it if you would engage with us on the posts in this blog. Please leave a comment by either logging in through your Facebook, Twitter or other supported social media account, or simply by adding your name and email address.

Your email address will never be made public and you’re welcome to use an anonymous name too.

One thought on “Beating the scourge of stigmaabc,

  1. when I was diagnosed with cancer my children were both 1 and 5 respectively. I decided to tell them about my diagnosis to enable them to understand the changes that I were to undergo and experience. I did not want them to feel neglected or think that I was dying or going to die. I avoided using terms that meant death but instead chose words that gave a positive input, like doctors helping mommy so as not to be too much sick, mommy feeling tired and too much sleepy, mommy choosing to look like a boy by shaving her head. I remember m
    the oldest asking “if you are not going to have her and be bald like me, how do I call you a princess then my Queen?. telling them made things easier because even at school they could talk about mommy having cancer with their peers and teachers. whenever I was tired from chemo, they would stand infront of me and tell me how beautiful I am, but they knew you cannot hug mommy during chemo because her soldiers are weak and she can easily get sick if they had flue, they also understood that mommy cannot go to every family outing due to the special medicine she was taking as a result they never nagged me about going to the movies, eating out etc.

Leave a Reply

