Hello, new nipples!

Nine years after she had her double mastectomy, Karen decided recently that she wanted her nipples back.

“My mastectomies were not done at the same time, or by the same doctor, so my breasts look quite different,” she said. “For me, reconstruction was an important part of my self-esteem. Having breasts is an important part of what makes me a woman. I know not everyone feels like this. I have two friends who chose not to have reconstruction, but this is a personal journey, and we each go through it in our own way.”

Karen decided to have her nipples made with permanent makeup. It is not a tattoo, so there is no bleeding and it lasts for three to five years.

“It is important to find a beauty therapist that you can trust, and that really knows what she is doing,” she said. “I was excited and confident that I would be happy with the results. I was a little disappointed to discover I had to keep bandages on for a few days though… I just wanted to rush home and show my new boobs to my husband!”

SONY DSC
It all starts with careful measurements
a 'washer' is used to determine size and position of the new nipple
a ‘washer’ is used to determine size and position of the new nipple

the outline is redrawn
the outline is redrawn
colours are chosen, and the work begins
colours are chosen, and the work begins
the nipple takes shape
the nipple takes shape
finishing touches
finishing touches
the new nipple
the new nipple

after nine years, the first sight of the 'new you' is an emotional experience
after nine years, the first sight of the ‘new you’ is an emotional experience

What do you think? Have you had permanent make up or tattoos? What was your experience?

 

 

